Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Nethermost-Alpha EP Review

1. Phasing Currents
2. The untroubled kingdom of reason
3. Tower of the Winds
4. Dance of Burning Beasts

Rating: 7/10

---Doom Death Melancholy---

Alpha, the new debut EP by this South Texas band known as Nethermost will be unveiled to the world on June 14, 2013.  Since 2009 what started as a husband and wife project has now manifested into a full band. So what type of style do they play?  Well they take the styles of the 90's mid paced death doom and add their own flavor of extreme to it. The sound of intense, melodic guitars with an extraction of melancholic bliss shall pour out the woe from the roots of your black soul and soil in natures crypt only to blossom of what was once yourself.  

The EP Alpha is dedicated to nature and the elements earth, air, fire and water as you can see from the track list. The musicianship the band produces is not a bad one at all.  The production is solid. You can certainly feel the energy put into these hymns of destruction.  Yeah there will be times where the guitars get a bit dull but the power the music conveys overrides it a bit. The use of nice clean guitar strums throughout the songs give it a more somber feel when present.  Vocals are strong and dark varying from a deep death grunt to some blackish tones at some points.  There are no female vocals if you are wandering by the way.  It probably would be a great addition, if they weren't overdone though. Another great addition would be the use of piano or some kind of atmospheric synths or keys.  But while saying those, it seems like it would sound like every other band so maybe the band just wants to produce some good extreme music in a good old fashion way. 

Fans of early Katatonia, Daylight Dies, October Tide take note.  If the music is established well enough on future releases, this could be the next big doom/death bands hailing from the U.S.   Nonetheless, Texas, where I hail from as well, should be proud of this home state band. Alpha will be released June 14, 2012 via Hypnotic Dirge Records.  As far as I know, the band is currently working on a full length release soon.  I am kind of excited what roots the band will take going from here on out.  It could be an interesting one.

---Review by Freddy---

1 comment: